CherrySimone's Blog

A creative blog, written at gun point. Watch me Procrastinate.

Paper Rose! & Cut out + Keep.

leave a comment »

Look what I did!!!

Remember Mother’s Day?

Know those Mother’s Day cards… the ones that have a pretty piece of folded paper inside… on to which you write “To Mum” and “Love from _________” and then “oxoxo” around the printed on sentence that says something like “YOU ARE THE BEST, BETTER THAN ALL THE REST”? Well, that’s what this rose is made of – that pretty paper =)

Want to make one but don’t know what you’ll need? Then I guess it’s good I can show you the link.

I haven’t any floral tape nor sheet music that I can cut up freely (my singing father would scream!) I do, however, have various jewellery wire! Also, in another version of this I printed off lyrics to my sister’s wedding song (in pink ink) and turned those pages in to a rose!! It would only take  a couple of A4 pages to make this.

I recommend you make a practice rose out of scrap paper and cellotape before moving on to making a rose made of pretty paper and hot glue. I made my first rose our of some fliers and adverts that often drop out of my mother’s Ladies Magazine.

This rose *below* was made by Scarlet (How To extraordinaire) and posted at Cut Out + Keep

Nice, eh? Indeed!

My sister, Kyla’s one year anniversary was on Sunday (9th May). She and her Husby, Michael, went to York and Harrogate where she treated him to war museums galore! And that’s why I made the rose =) along with a Lemony style Victoria Sponge cake! Victoria sponge except with lemon juice and zest and sandwiched together with lemony butter icing and lemon curd and drizzled with lemony syrup! …I thought it would be appropriate for spring time and quite traditional =]

One last picture of my rose… that I’m obviously VERY proud of =P

These pictures were taken using my Dad’s Mobile phone because I had lent Sarah my camera for the weekend for her trip to London… I missed my camera dearly… and Sarah too of course! Mais oui…

Written by Cherise

May 12, 2010 at 11:40 am

Leave a comment