CherrySimone's Blog

A creative blog, written at gun point. Watch me Procrastinate.

Purse and Kindle Case Making AND Embellishing!

leave a comment »

Last Monday we were going to make needle felted little doggies!

But we, us crafty lot, are distracted easily.

Firstly Claire introduced me to an embellisher. I was a bit scared about getting started – 5 needles moving VERY fast!? Unsure – but the sizable finger guard is immensely lovely.

OOH! Just had an idea, I should needle felt a little embellishment on to my khaki satchel.

So firstly Claire showed me how to make a wooly flower on the embellisher… and that became a bit addictive.

Some contain loose angenlina fibres for happy sparkle times =) Puuuurdy.

Then I went a bit (experi)mental and felted a feather, angelina and felt in to some organzas!

Sooooo, Queen C brought in some booooooootiful fabric that many people thought was handmade. She wanted to make a big pencil-case for herself, Blackberry holder for her bestie friend and a … whatever for me =). Problem was that She didn’t know HOW to make one, I couldn’t remember how, so after asking Queen Hilly, we got to work! In fact, she was already at work, so I excitedly did most of it =P Sewing machines I missed youuuuuu!

And so, much like the Choconana vegan cake recipe that’s on here somewhere, this is a note to myself for when I next forget, here’s a bit of a ‘How to’ on making a lined and zippered case/purse.

I uuuuuuuuuuuused:

  • PINS
  • Paper
  • Pencil
  • Ruler
  • Scissors (actually I used a roll-y cutter doo dah)
  • Lining fabric
  • Display fabric
  • Zzzzzzzzipp
  • Iron



This is Claire’s:

Next up I made a square-y one for myself and my bobs and bits and as a bit of a test go for the square one Claire wants.
HOWEVER! I just found out, by eavesdropping on another class, that you can cut shapes out of the angelina by using a kind of Sizzix contraption!

So before doing this:

I free-machined some shapes on to my display fabric:

and here’s the…front? back? other side!

Written by Cherise

July 10, 2011 at 3:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

