CherrySimone's Blog

A creative blog, written at gun point. Watch me Procrastinate.

Paper leaves of Poetry & Macbeth(shh!)

leave a comment »

PrettyThrifty and I agree I should be more blabby in blog entries! She says I’m funny (in a nice way!) but she’s the one lent me the words “dust elephants” and sent the text “But it’s impossible to be mr impossible!”

Speaking of… here’s my new (second-hand sewing machine)

It used to be PrettyThrifty’s and was living at her house until recently. So far I’ve been practicing and attempting little bits…

heart-shaped door-hanger! The First attempt looks like a wonky sock. That’s why I need Pretty Thrifty as my tech-support- telling me why it looks like a wonky sock and how I can make it look more “country kitchen” the next time around =o)

At least my cat Casper gets his own christmas stocking this year… so all’s not lost in learning how to craft with a machine.
On Monday, PrettyThrifty and I are going to The Art Organisation so that she  can hand over her beayouuuutiful makes to be put in the new shop.  On that note- thankyou Oscar for lettuce and letting me rant, and WOOP to Kris, a pal who recently joined their team for a bit of painting and work on the new shop! People should employ him *hint hint* and me *more hint* when we apply to places.

SO! New shop… I’m making some items for the shop too and for Crocus Gallery in Lenton (near the Savoy cinema).

On Thursday I had phone counseling so I could stay ‘at home’ on the quite nice day. I blu-tacked my paper shapers to an old sketch book, sat in the garden with a tin of clear varnish and a brush (of sorts)…

after a couple of coats and hours of drying in between I ch-ch-check them out… this was the first time I varnished paper and it feels funny to respond to “what have you been varnishing?”
“paper hearts.”
“hahahaha!…. oh. really? why?”
“yeah, odd for me too!)

I discovered that when painting older paper hearts (and leaves) from an older book with yellow-er pages, it makes the paper translucent and look a little bit like grease-proof paper, which may not sound attractive to you but I see them being used for scrapbooking and mixed-media projects (for a book Pretty Thrifty gave me for my happy 22nd) and newer, creamier pages turn a lot less translucent! But I also enjoy the effect left on the empty pages once I’ve removed the shapes… so they’ll be used for another project! Happy bi-products of creating…

I’ve been thinking about how I might update the brooches (varnish? play book? leaf shapes…?) and have been thinking of stitching them to felt, but I quite like the stiffness from backing them on layers of card… I’ll experiment with them tomorrow =]… in an hour less wee and less rude to my eyes.

I tested with one of the leaves but found that (as lovely and speedy as that was) that the thread was too thin and didn’t make the brooch nearly as lovely and colourful as wanted it to be… but just now, while typing this I’ve had an idea… what if I just use the sewing machine to make my brooch all holey, ready for me to sew through the pre-made holes- to that the stitches are all more even? or not?

_______________________________________________________

On another subject, FOLKSY! I made a second Folksy account for myself for anything I’ve made, intended for more making, and for anything I’ve stash-busted! It’s called CardBored… obviously I was PMTing and moody at the time of thinking of a title ;o)
Here are some fabric beads I made…

ummm… and there was one last thing I wanted to write about before I ran off to bed at 3:30am…

TO DO:
– Blog about my garlands I made for ME and no one else *mwhahhahahahaha*
– Pics of lemon and lime curd I’m making later, in the day light, or in a few days. (If Ms.Thrifty is reading this, a jar is to be saved for you!)
– Embroid, and take pics of paper thangs.
– Mixed media bewk (book)?

wee wee, brush teeth and…
BED TIME!
xoxoxox

AHH! Arts on Prescription! It isnt up and running again yet BUT there’s an exhibit on at the New Art Exchange… tut, what have they done to the website? I find it hard to find the info now =o(… ahh, yes, the exhibit is of items made at AonP, so I’ll be going on monday or thursday to gawk at nice things =]

I reeeeally need the loo now, bye…

Written by Cherise

September 19, 2010 at 2:38 am

Leave a Reply

