CherrySimone's Blog

A creative blog, written at gun point. Watch me Procrastinate.

{ Book Binding } Internet has returned so let’s start back dating!

leave a comment »

Today *cough*last friday*cough* my parents RAN AWAY (in a car) to a luuurvely place in Norfolk! Meanwhile I was at Dee’s house having fun with first Friday Crafts.

Also there was Suella! She’s so nice and we had great chats =D

Mais oui, at Dee’s house we did… BOOK BINDING!… well… Dee got around to binding HER book  but Suella and I couldn’t STOP chopping old books and paper!

We also ate nummy souP. And I  now want swede. Is that so wrong? AND I want sweet potato. And cabbage…  This, as they say, “has nothing to do with the price of fish”. But I DO!… By the way, my Wednesday self wants sweet potato and cabbage. My Friday- Tuesday selves wants swede.

What was I saying…

OH! Right, so I thought I’d packed my camera when I set off to Dee’s house… but I hadn’t! SO here are some pictures! and a how to!

Firstly, gather bobs, bits and stuff! These things will come in handy:

As well as:

Paper that has spaces that can be written on! Here there’s a leaflet or two,  paint charts, letters…

… old papers that can be re-used, envelopes from every day letters and occasion cards, pages from books that had a wire spine that had damaged and twisted, magazine picture pages, recipe pages… book pages… what else!??! I think you get the idea =)

I enjoy used boxes as book covers! Nonie and Dee were wonderful enough to donate her old biscuit box to me!

And here’s a box that once contained mini choccy mousses… oh the things my family help me with.

Cut the papers to DOUBLE the length of the front (or back) cover.
And don’t worry about any slightly stout or imperfect pages.

Out of habit I open envelopes down one side but if you open envelopes properly you can use some pritt stick or pva to glue the edge of closing to save having a huge triangle missing from part of your envelope…

Fold your papers in half and combine all of your new old odd pages in to strange and interesting mixed bunches!

… And have your puppy, Lady, sniff  the pages and inspect what you’re up to just as you take a photo for a tutorial…

place your pages in your book cover to check that the book isn’t too skinny (else your spine may will bend and weaken) or too fat. If it is you may have to add another bunch or two of paper… or remove a bunch or two… so that it’s easier to bind your book.

However, If you plan to stick things (pictures, menus, inspirational bits etc) in on to your pages at some point then a slightly skinnier book will make the book less *poof* later on, meanwhile you can cut an extra strip of card and glue it on either the inside or outside of your book spine (inside it will be hidden) to strengthen the spine.
ALSO! If you PREFER a thicker book you could sew a pretty button on to your book’s cover and sew some ribbon or thong (not THAT thong!) on the back cover and make yourself a little fastener to stop your thick book from popping open or taking up too much room in your bag.

NEXT:

Using a pencil and a ruler measure the width or your book cover’s spine and divide that measurement between the number of budles (of pages) you have and mark the fractions on the inside of the books spine, then draw lines down the inside of the books spine.

From this, measure half an inch from the top and bottom of the books spine, this, on the crossover, of lines, is where you should make your holes. Then, an inch and half towards the centre is where you should make another two holes.

On the middle fold of each bundles middle page is where you should measure and make the same holes so that you may then sew your bunglers to the spine.

This is the “Nonie’s Biscuit Box Covered Book” and on the other side of my book cover I stuck a picture I couldnt HELP but use! This picture was found in one of Dee’s old, unwanted book, FULL of gorgeously glossy egyptian pictures. And there’s an extra flap for me to stick down to cover my book spine stitching.

However, on a mini cereal box book, I prefer to look at the stitches, and have started sewing the spine using a co-ordinating colour of embroidery silk…

HERE are some other KICK BUM tutorials about the same thing… maybe they’re a little clearer in explaining =P

Cut Out and Keep 1

CO+K 2

AND this is where I stole my mini ceral box project. Except when I saw this project it was in a brilliant book (Eco Book!) Dee had borrowed from the library.

And finally Instructables!

GOOD LUCK! If you have a go or try a different method then let me know!

Written by Cherise

April 5, 2010 at 8:37 am

Leave a Reply

