CherrySimone's Blog

A creative blog, written at gun point. Watch me Procrastinate.

[AonP] Wall Flower, Wheelz! and Selling…

leave a comment »

Wave “Goodbyeeee” to Wall Flower! It has gonned to the home of JulieToo! On with the journal entry with some other memorial pics of Wall Flower…

Julie1 is the Teaching Assistant at AonP and has (flatteringly) been asking me to bring in my jewellery to show people for the past year. Soooo, today, I finally did take in my crafts (inside the legendary paisley box).

Today in Arts there was a Substitute because Jade’s on a lovely holiday with her fella for a family birthday do. The Sub’s name is Julie… for the purpose of this blog will be known at JulieToo… She laid out pictures and photographs of car wheels- more pointedly, the patterns on hub caps!


When she said we would be working in MONOCHROME and drawing circles? TOO HARD! No, really! I’m a fan of acrylics, silk paints and colourful printing!

Right, I think there are three stages of control/painters:
– Watercolour: GO WILD! Maybe? Mot sure about the water-colour people yet.
– Acrylics: Impatient, bit more control but generally liking stronger colours and quicker drying times than…
– Oil: Control, texture, shine and patience.

Onward!….
TYRES!

Fellow “student” Sue did great things in her black and white circles (but admits when she started AonP she was a bit scared of colour)! Drawing patters reminiscent the pictures she liked in a book of Guatemalea Textiles books and drawing flowers.  I was a bit shy with it, just scribbling, though I eventually started drawing the leaves like the ones on my ring and designs that looked a bit celtic-y.

We then cut out the circles, arranged them on paper, stuck ’em down and drew on/ around the outsides.

Here’s what I came up with!

Ch-ch-check it out! I used white paper, black and “nude”, chalk, charcoal and our old friend, MONO-PRINTING!

Sue (fellow student) started AonP a few weeks ago, alone. Then Last week she brought her son, Johnny. Then, this week, she brought her son, Johnny AND her dad. Next week? We’re aiming for her son, dad AND her mother! *cross fingers* We need to keep the numbers up, for the sake of funding- else there’ll be no funding and NO free arts!!! Join us?

Bye bye Wall Flower *waves*

JulieToo’s colour is PINK! Though today she was head to top in TEAL.

Julie1’s colour is RED and she bought a necklace that I love dearly *swoon* and had made a while back- it had crystals of rose quartz and garnet, a deep red rhodonite heart, crystal, red glass beads and a funky handmade cylinder bead as a pendant- with gold plated links that I made by hand!

I very much liked JulieToo, hope I meet her again some time! And of COURSE I like Julie1 very much also, so I’m happy to know my brooch and necklace have FANTSTIC new homes =D

Written by Cherise

February 22, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Leave a Reply

