CherrySimone's Blog

A creative blog, written at gun point. Watch me Procrastinate.

FECK YES! Working & Paper bead tutorial (=

with one comment

13 days til holidays! I’m going on holiday to Malaga in thirteen days! I just did a few hours cleaning at my friend’s house for holiday spends and now I’m aching a little in my lower back and my gacky shoulder and it feels GOOD because she sent me on my way with home made seedy bread and books and mango shower gel! mangooooo… are you SURE I can’t drink it? pleeeeeeeeease?

So when I got home I had seedy bread (STILL WARM!) with creamy colslaw (into which I’d grated cheeeeeeeeeese) AND, at the side, butternut squash that I’d flavoured and roasted t’other night and a tomato. Yup. Variety and tasty. Also today the sky had mood swings and went from sunshine, blue skies with bright white fluffy clouds…. to… light grey sky with no light or blue in sight, pelting down hale and rain!!!

At Dee’s house I heard chuckles and “uh oh”s and the quiet *brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr* of her sewing machine… and from this gold was made! Just you wait Newstead TreeFest, we’re gonna have some goodies for you this year!

Also, at Dee’s, I moved (pussy cat) Nonie’s food and water bowl (definite cause for her to sleep on your face and suffocate you at night-time… or at least for her to get nervous and antsy!) but at the end of cleaning I put her things back where they belonged and suddenly I was blessed by her furiness with some puddytat-snuggles and hugging! NICE! I didnt think to get a picture of the moment but it involves her laying on your shoulders and snuggling up to you! Cosy and adorable Ms Nonie!

AHH SO! What was it I said I’d upload? PAPER BEADS! Or “Paper Beadz” If ur in wiv the kidz like I iz. Innit.

There are SO so so many Paper Bead Tutorials out there in tintanet world!

Phwore! It’s only when tagging my WordPress entries that I realise how many entries contain paper crafts and such! I’m a stationary nerd if you must know.

Oscar at tea bar (The Art Org) often buys chicken or chips and you get a funky paper bag with it… which I once nicked before it could get greasy.  Yup, allll sorts of paper and allll sorts of funkys.

For this you may bead need:

You saw me! NO POSH PRETTY PAPERS OR DESIGNER FABRICS!

Right, so, we have a Tesco catalogue, (yup, that’s how my parents roll, Tesco, I ain’t proud but it’s true) and a piece of paper from my Leftlion newspaper, a simply be magazine that fell out of a magazine along with a load of fliers AND some scraps of fabric. the mister men is from a kids sun-faded curtain, the rest was freeeeee from a Spinsters Emporium event!

Something I FORGOT to put on the picture that you’ll need is a bbq skewer, knitting needle, chopstick or some such!

See the pretty colour? NO need to spend on silly papers that you’ll hardly see!

Or would you prefer pinks and teal?


Yellow? Pink? Blue? You get me?

Tear out your page and either ruler lines on to it or just triangles by eye and have your knitting needles and glue at the ready!

Next! Press thee wide part of the paper against your knitting needle or whatever you’re using…. and TWIZZLE!

Add a spot of glue, spread it down the strip with your fingers (because it’s fun that way =D) and twizzle some more!

And finally, rest, until dry, on something shiny! The point being that you don’t want your beads to rest on anything that will absorb the glue and cause the bead and resting surface to bond….

… the way that this purple folder and my bob the builder beads bonded. Oops. Nothing wrong with a bit of accidental folder decoration =)

See what else you can do? Wrap them in sparkly sari silk thread that is given to you by your dearest friend Dee

or cut triangles of colourful tartan fabric… orrr take advantage of the old valentines product advert pages that are covered in pictures of red and polka dots!

And if you’re like me you’ll just enjoy the new addiction that is getting down, dirty and sticky… making paper beads:


Making paper beads ain’t anything new, so you can either buy them here:
http://www.spoiltrottenbeads.co.uk/acholi-beads-202-c.asp

These stunning fair trade beads are made by the Acholi women in Uganda, using recycled and rolled paper.

“Upcycling” is the latest trend in the craft world – Upcycling is taking something that is destined for the rubbish bin and transforming it into something of value and beauty!

These beautiful “upcycled” beads are made by the Acholi tribeswomen of Uganda using old magazines destined for landfill. The women of the Acholi tribe formed a beading collective after they were forced to flee their villages in Northern Uganda due to a civil war. They resettled in the capital city, Kampala, where the sale of these amazing beads means that they are now able to afford the school fees for their children.

Else you could check out these other fantastically pretty tutorials!

And to end? Ben Harper!

Written by Cherise

May 1, 2010 at 10:10 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. aaah babes,well done! Princess nonie sends furry love n almost forgives u 4 moving everfing n makin it smell wrong! lvly clear expo,gd pix,gd stuff ;)

    pretty thrifty

    May 8, 2010 at 5:01 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

